Alert close - icon Fill 1 Copy 10 Untitled-1 tt copy 3 Untitled-1 Untitled-1 tt copy 3 Fill 1 Copy 10 menu Group 3 Group 3 Copy 3 Group 3 Copy Page 1 Group 2 Group 2 Skip to content

Dual carriageways in Derbyshire to get annual maintenance and clean

Published: 22 June 2022

We're gearing up to carry out our annual roads spring clean.


Each summer with the help of the district and borough councils, we carry out a maintenance programme on all the dual carriageways in the county.

The work includes cutting the grass on the central reservations and at the sides of the roads, picking up litter, emptying the gullies and drains, fixing any potholes, and any other bits of maintenance work that need carrying out.

Our Cabinet Member for Highways Assets and Transport, Councillor Kewal Singh Athwal, said:

“By bringing together different teams from the county council, and our district and borough partners to do this vital work we can be more efficient and not impact the travelling public too much.

“We don’t start this work until July so that we are kinder to nature by letting the grass grow a bit longer so that some native species are given longer to flower or seed.

“Most of the dual carriageways will only have lane closures, but we will need to fully close some of them to enable the work to be carried out safely so I’d like to apologise in advance for any inconvenience caused.”

The maintenance programme is:

  • Sunday 17 July 2022 - A515 Collycroft - road closed 4am to 11am
  • Monday 18 July 2022 - A61 Alfreton - lanes closed 9.30am to 3.30pm
  • Tuesday 19 July 2022 - Owler Bar roundabout - lanes closed 9.30am to 3.30pm
  • Wednesday 20 July 2022 - A632 Slack Hill - road closed northbound 9.30am to 3.30pm
  • Thursday 21 July 2022 - A52 - Shirley Hollow - lanes closed 9.30am to 3.30pm
  • Saturday 23 July 2022 - A617 Hornsbridge to Temple Normanton - road closed 6am to 6pm
  • Sunday 24 July 2022 - A617 Heath to Temple Normanton - road closed 6am to 6pm
  • Monday 25 July 2022 - A61 Bowshaw - lanes closed 9.30am to 3.30pm
  • Tuesday 26 July 2022 - A617 Lordsmill Street - lanes closed 4am to 11am
  • Wednesday 27 July 2022 - A619 Markham Road - lanes closed 4am to 11am
  • Thursday 28 July 2022 - A617 Pleasley - lanes closed 4am to 11am
  • Saturday 30 July to Sunday 31 July 2022 - A38 South Normanton - lanes closed 4am to 11am
  • Monday 1 August to Thursday 4 August 2022 - A6 Chapel bypass - lanes closed 7am to 3.30pm
  • Friday 5 August 2022 - A6 Taddington - lanes closed 9.30am to 3.30pm
  • Saturday 6 August 2022 - A619 Rother Way, road closed 4am to 11am
  • Sunday 7 August 2022 - A61 Tesco to Horns Bridge, road closed 6am to 6pm
  • Monday 8 August to Tuesday 9 August 2022 - A619 Baslow Road, road closed 6pm until 6am
  • Sunday 14 August 2022 - A61 Tesco to Whittington Moor, road closed 6am to 6pm
  • Saturday 20 August 2022 - A61 Dronfield bypass - road closed 6am to 6pm
  • Sunday 21 August 2022 - A61 Dronfield bypass, road closed 6am to 6pm
  • Saturday 27 August 2022 - A617 Junction 29 Doe Lee - lanes closed 6am to 6pm
  • Sunday 28 August 2022 - A6135 / A616 Junction 30 Barlborough, lanes closed 4am to 11am

All work could be delayed due to bad weather.