Alert close - icon Fill 1 Copy 10 Untitled-1 tt copy 3 Untitled-1 Untitled-1 tt copy 3 Fill 1 Copy 10 menu Group 3 Group 3 Copy 3 Group 3 Copy Page 1 Group 2 Group 2 Skip to content

Careers workshops

Free careers workshops to support with work, training or education are available to all Derbyshire residents who are aged 19 and over, or 18 and not in employment, education and / or training.


The following workshops are free and are run online by our qualified careers coaches.

You'll need a smartphone, tablet, laptop or other computer with internet access to take part in the course.

For queries, to book, or for more information about these workshops please:

If no one answers please leave a voice mail.

We need name, date of birth, contact number and email address. The course details including Teams link will be confirmed when booking.

Apply to the Civil Service

This workshop will provide an overview of each stage of the recruitment process used for Civil Service vacancies, what success profiles are, how to write effective applications, and hints and tips to improve your chances of success.

Workshop dates:

  • Wednesday 13 March 2024 from 1pm to 2.30pm
  • Wednesday 17 April 2024 from 1pm to 2.30pm
  • Wednesday 22 May 2024 from 1pm to 2.30pm
  • Wednesday 26 June 2024 from 1pm to 2.30pm
  • Wednesday 31 July 2024 from 1pm to 2.30pm
  • Wednesday 4 September 2024 from 1pm to 2.30pm
  • Wednesday 9 October 2024 from 1pm to 2.30pm
  • Wednesday 13 November 2024 from 1pm to 2.30pm
  • Wednesday 18 December 2024 from 1pm to 2.30pm

50+ employment support

This workshop outlines some of the challenges faced by those aged 50+ and identifies ways to overcome these, as well as exploring the support available, and understanding what individuals are able to offer compared to under 50s.

Workshop dates:

  • Monday 15 April 2024 from 1.30pm to 3pm
  • Monday 24 June 2024 from 1.30pm to 3pm
  • Monday 2 September 2024 from 1.30pm to 3pm
  • Monday 11 November 2024 from 1.30pm to 3pm

How to sell yourself and succeed at interview

This session covers how to prepare for interview, understanding what information is available to help with preparation, and learning how to communicate and sell yourself during interview.

Workshop dates:

  • Thursday 14 March 2024 from 2pm to 3.30pm
  • Wednesday 27 March 2023 from 11am to 12.30pm
  • Thursday 18 April 2024 from 2pm to 3.30pm
  • Wednesday 1 May 2024 from 11am to 12.30pm
  • Thursday 23 May 2024 from 2pm to 3.30pm
  • Wednesday 5 June 2024 from 11am to 12.30pm
  • Thursday 27 June 2024 from 2pm to 3.30pm
  • Wednesday 10 July 2024 from 11am to 12.30pm
  • Thursday 1 August 2024 from 2pm to 3.30pm
  • Wednesday 14 August 2024 from 11am to 12.30pm
  • Thursday 5 September2024 from 2pm to 3.30pm
  • Wednesday 18 September 2024 from 11am to 12.30pm
  • Thursday 10 October 2024 from 2pm to 3.30pm
  • Wednesday 23 October 2024 from 11am to 12.30pm
  • Thursday 14 November 2024 from 2pm to 3.30pm
  • Wednesday 27 November 2024 from 11am to 12.30pm
  • Thursday 19 December 2024 from 2pm to 3.30pm

How to write a winning CV/application form

This session provides an overview of each element of your CV and application form, providing hints and tips to make them stand out, as well as understanding how to tailor them to the specific role you're applying for.

Session dates:

  • Tuesday 19 March 2024 from 1pm to 2.30pm
  • Tuesday 23 April 2024 from 1pm to 2.30pm
  • Tuesday 28 May 2024 from 1pm to 2.30pm
  • Tuesday 2 July 2024 from 1pm to 2.30pm
  • Tuesday 6 August 2024 from 1pm to 2.30pm
  • Tuesday 10 September 2024 from 1pm to 2.30pm
  • Tuesday 15 October 2024 from 1pm to 2.30pm
  • Tuesday 19 November 2024 from 1pm to 2.30pm

Identifying your transferable skills

This session will enable you to be able to reflect upon and identify skills from your past experiences, and understand how to use these skills to sell yourself when applying for new opportunities.

Session dates:

  • Wednesday 28 February 2024 from 1pm to 2.30pm
  • Wednesday 3 April 2024 from 1pm to 2.30pm
  • Wednesday 8 May 2024 from 1pm to 2.30pm
  • Wednesday 12 June 2024 from 1pm to 2.30pm
  • Wednesday 17 July 2024 from 1pm to 2.30pm
  • Wednesday 21 August 2024 from 1pm to 2.30pm
  • Wednesday 25 September 2024 from 1pm to 2.30pm
  • Wednesday 30 October 2024 from 1pm to 2.30pm
  • Wednesday 4 December 2024 from 1pm to 2.30pm

Support with applying for our vacancies

This session focuses on the recruitment methods we use, understanding each stage of the process, how to use the job and person profile to improve your application, and hints and tips.

Session dates:

  • Tuesday 5 March 2024 from 1pm to 2.30pm
  • Tuesday 9 April 2024 from 1pm to 2.30pm
  • Tuesday 14 May 2024 from 1pm to 2.30pm
  • Tuesday 18 June 2024 from 1pm to 2.30pm
  • Tuesday 23 July 2024 from 1pm to 2.30pm
  • Tuesday 27 August 2024 from 1pm to 2.30pm
  • Tuesday 1 October 2024 from 1pm to 2.30pm
  • Tuesday 5 November 2024 from 1pm to 2.30pm
  • Tuesday 10 December 2024 from 1pm to 2.30pm

If you are interested in any of these workshops, but are unable to attend the dates provided, you can access individual support through one of our qualified careers coaches or register your interest.