Alert close - icon Fill 1 Copy 10 Untitled-1 tt copy 3 Untitled-1 Untitled-1 tt copy 3 Fill 1 Copy 10 menu Group 3 Group 3 Copy 3 Group 3 Copy Page 1 Group 2 Group 2 Skip to content

Leawood Pumphouse

Make a date to see this magnificent steam beam engine in action.


Leawood Pumphouse

Leawood Pumphouse was built in 1849 to pump water from the River Derwent into Cromford Canal.

It is now well over 150 years old but remains in pristine working condition thanks to the dedication of the Middleton Top and Leawood Pump Volunteer Group.

Leawood Pump and Leawood aqueduct are scheduled monuments and well worth a visit, they are a short walk from High Peak Junction.

Make the most of a visit by experiencing the power of Leawood Pump in steam on the dates in the document attached to this page. The heat of the boilers, the smell of grease and coal and the power of the wave as 4 tons of water are pumped up into the canal from the river below.

Leawood Pumphouse has regular steaming dates throughout the year from Easter until October.

For further details or to arrange a visit for a group, school or society please contact  Middleton Top, tel: 01629 533298.

Leawood Pump operating days

Open from midday to 4.30pm

Experience the power of this great steam engine. The heat of the boilers, the smell of grease and coal and the power of the wave as tons of water are pumped from the River Derwent to the Cromford Canal. Look out for Birdswood the traditional narrowboat, which is horse drawn on these dates.

Directions

Park at High Peak Junction car park, Lea Bridge, (south of Cromford), DE4 5AA, (signposted from the A6 at Cromford) or enjoy a pleasant walk of just over a mile along the Canal from Cromford Wharf.

Charges

£5 per person (adults, concessions and children age 14 plus), timed entry and limited numbers. Booking essential. Contact 01629 533298. Parking charges apply.

Operating dates

  • Saturday 5 June 2021 static
  • Sunday 6 June 2021
  • Saturday 3 July 2021 static
  • Sunday 4 July 2021
  • Saturday 7 August 2021 static
  • Sunday 8 August 2021
  • Sunday 29 August 2021
  • Monday 30 August 2021
  • Saturday 18 September 2021
  • Sunday 19 September 2021
  • Saturday 9 October 2021
  • Sunday 10 October 2021
  • Sunday 24 October 2021 static
  • Sunday 31 October 2021 static

Facilities available

  • Footpath


  • Light refreshments


  • Museum


  • Parking


  • Toilets


Contact details

Address:

  • High Peak Junction Car Park
  • Lea Bridge (south of Cromford)
  • Derbyshire
  • DE4 5AA
  • Name: Leawood Pumphouse
  • Work tel: 01629 533298