Leawood Pumphouse was built in 1849 to pump water from the River Derwent into Cromford Canal.
It is now well over 150 years old but remains in pristine working condition thanks to the dedication of the Middleton Top and Leawood Pump Volunteer Group. Experience the power of this great steam engine as it pumps four tons of water into the canal with each piston stroke.
Leawood Pumphouse has regular steaming dates throughout the year from Easter until October. Details of opening times and operating days, along with the magnificent Middleton Top Engine House are attached to this page. Some steam dates may need to be cancelled due to roof repair work. Please check for confirmation.
For further details or to arrange a visit for a group, school or society please contact Middleton Top, tel: 01629 533298