Alert close - icon Fill 1 Copy 10 Untitled-1 tt copy 3 Untitled-1 Untitled-1 tt copy 3 Fill 1 Copy 10 menu Group 3 Group 3 Copy 3 Group 3 Copy Page 1 Group 2 Group 2 Skip to content

Buildings at risk register

The buildings at risk register lists historic buildings in Derbyshire which are at risk from vacancy, under-use or neglect.


Search the buildings at risk register

Most of the structures are listed buildings, some are not listed but lie within conservation areas and a few are scheduled monuments.

The accuracy of the information in the register cannot be guaranteed in any respect. It is updated annually by us with information provided by the district and borough councils, Derby City Council and the Peak District National Park Authority.

Owners of listed buildings, which are not being maintained in a 'proper state of preservation', can be subject to legal action by the local authority under the Planning (Listed Buildings and Conservation Areas) Act 1990 to enforce proper repairs. If an owner fails to properly maintain their property, the relevant council has the right to start compulsory purchase proceedings.

The first register, published in 1989, followed a survey of listed buildings at risk by Derbyshire Historic Buildings Trust.

Since then, monitoring and updating of the register has been carried out by our conservation and design section in conjunction with the trust, district and borough councils, Derby City Council and the Peak District National Park Authority.

Neither we nor the trust can be held liable for any inaccuracy in the information provided.

Conservation staff in local councils

Amber Valley

Contact: Head of Development Control
email: development@ambervalley.gov.uk
Tel: 01773 841571

Regeneration and Growth Team
Amber Valley Borough Council
PO Box 18
Town Hall
Ripley
DE5 3SZ

Bolsover

Contact: Kim Wyatt
email: kim.wyatt@bolsover.gov.uk
Tel: 01246 242288

Department of Planning Services
The District of Bolsover
Sherwood Lodge
Bolsover
S44 6NF

Chesterfield

Contact: Scott Nicholas
email: scott.nicholas@chesterfield.gov.uk
Tel: 01246 345796

Development Management Section
Chesterfield Borough Council
Town Hall
Chesterfield
S40 1LP

Derby City Council

Contact: Chloe Oswald
email: chloe.oswald@derby.gov.uk
Tel: 01332 641634

Neighbourhoods Directorate
Derby City Council
Roman House
Friargate
Derby
DE1 1XB

Derbyshire County Council

Contact:

Alex Gilbert
email: alex.gilbert@derbyshire.gov.uk
Tel: 01629 539795

Adam Lathbury
email: adam.lathbury@derbyshire.gov.uk
Tel: 01629 539791

Conservation, Heritage and Design Section
Economy, Transport and Environment
Derbyshire County Council
County Hall
Matlock
DE4 3AG

Derbyshire Dales

email: planning@derbyshiredales.gov.uk
Tel: 01629 761360

Planning Department
Derbyshire Dales District Council
Town Hall
Matlock
DE4 3NN

Erewash

email: conservation@erewash.gov.uk
Tel: 0115 9072244

The Conservation Officer
Erewash Borough Council
Town Hall
Derby Road
Long Eaton
Derbyshire
NG10 1HU

High Peak

Contact: Emily Holland
email: emily.holland@highpeak.gov.uk
Tel: 0345 129 7777

Or you can use the conservation contact form

Buxton Town Hall
42 St John's Road
Buxton
SK17 6XG

North East Derbyshire

Contact: Rebecca Waddington
email: rebecca.waddington@ne-derbyshire.gov.uk
Tel: 01246 217177 or 07815 481839

District Offices
2013 Mill Lane
Wingerworth
Chesterfield
S42 6NG

Peak District National Park

Contact:

Sue Adam
email: sue.adam@peakdistrict.gov.uk
Tel: 01629 816271

Peak District National Park Authority
Aldern House
Baslow Road
Bakewell
DE4 1AE

South Derbyshire

Contact: Francesca Siviter
email: francesca.siviter@southderbyshire.gov.uk
Tel: 01283 595983

Planning and Economic Development Department
South Derbyshire District Council
Civic Offices
Swadlincote
DE11 0AH