Alert close - icon Fill 1 Copy 10 Untitled-1 tt copy 3 Untitled-1 Untitled-1 tt copy 3 Fill 1 Copy 10 menu Group 3 Group 3 Copy 3 Group 3 Copy Page 1 Group 2 Group 2 Skip to content

Service of Remembrance held today at County Hall

Published: 10 November 2023

A Service of Remembrance has been held today at our headquarters at County Hall in Matlock.

Service of Remembrance 2023 attendees at County Hall
Pictured on the steps of County Hall before the service are: Front row: RAF veteran Gary Morewood, Councillor Ed Fordham, our Civic Chairman Councillor David Taylor, Councillor Simon Spencer. Middle row: RBL Bakewell and District Chairman Andy Howard, Councillor Christine Dale, Captain Mandy Foster, our employee who played The Last Post and Reveille Izzy Jepson. Back row: Our Executive Director Joe O’Sullivan, HM Lord Lieutenant (DL) Brigadier Adam Fraser-Hitchen and Councillor David Wilson.

The ceremony saw a number of wreaths laid by the memorial inside County Hall following a service and two-minute silence.

Wreaths were laid by HM Lord Lieutenant (DL) Brigadier Adam Fraser-Hitchen on behalf of the Lord Lieutenant of Derbyshire, our Council Civic Chairman Councillor David Taylor, Councillor Simon Spencer on behalf of our Conservative Group, Councillor Christine Dale on behalf of our Labour Group, Councillor Ed Fordham on behalf of our Liberal Democrat Group, who also laid a purple wreath to honour animals that served in war and conflict, our Executive Director Joe O’Sullivan on behalf of our employees and William Lowe on behalf of Unite.   

RAF veteran Gary Morewood delivered Ode - For the Fallen at the service. Mr Morewood stood in for Royal Navy and D-Day veteran Albert Keir from Bakewell, who had been due to attend. Mr Morewood was accompanied by Andy Howard, who is the Chairman of the Bakewell and District branch of the Royal British Legion, with the pair bringing Mr Keir’s jacket decorated with his medals to represent him.

During the service, the names of fallen council officers were read out by our Civic Chairman Councillor David Taylor.