Alert close - icon Fill 1 Copy 10 Untitled-1 tt copy 3 Untitled-1 Untitled-1 tt copy 3 Fill 1 Copy 10 menu Group 3 Group 3 Copy 3 Group 3 Copy Page 1 Group 2 Group 2 Skip to content

Tier 4 libraries

Find out which tier your local library is in and why.

The proposed strategy for the library service is fully informed by the evidence gathered through undertaking a comprehensive Library Strategy Needs Assessment.

The criteria for categorising libraries is:

  • levels of current use – includes total number of issues, visits and computer sessions booked
  • demographic need – the level of need in a local area
  • access – how accessible a library is due to its location, for example are they in a larger town with reasonable transport links? Levels of car ownership?
  • existing provision – the size and quality of what is currently on offer and opportunities for enhanced community use, financial costs

A rank score for each library in terms of their performance and using information from the Index of Multiple Deprivation was produced to provide context.

Existing levels of use are considered a reasonable basis for prioritising library provision, because implementing changes to library services in locations with least usage ensures a relative degree of protection for better used libraries.

We're proposing in the future, the library service and what is provided will be managed and delivered on a tiered basis. The rank score does not provide sufficient information to determine tiers. To identify tiers, the percentage of business use for each library was taken into account.

Tiering allows the library service to cluster broadly similar libraries together to:

  • define the nature of the service that should be provided from libraries of different sizes and types
  • ensure the consistent allocation of limited resources such as opening hours and staffing
  • match services to customers’ needs and expectations
  • ensure consistent performance

There are 20 libraries in tier 4, which are being proposed for transferral to community management. These are:

  • Borrowash, Etwall, Clowne, Duffield, Creswell, Brimington, Whaley Bridge, Killamarsh, Melbourne, Hadfield, Holmewood, Gamesley, Whitwell, Wingerworth, Pinxton, Hayfield, Tideswell, Old Whittington, Somercotes, Woodville.

Details of tier 4 libraries is attached to this page.