Alert close - icon Fill 1 Copy 10 Untitled-1 tt copy 3 Untitled-1 Untitled-1 tt copy 3 Fill 1 Copy 10 menu Group 3 Group 3 Copy 3 Group 3 Copy Page 1 Group 2 Group 2 Skip to content

Child care qualifications

An update on current recognised qualifications.


Childminders in England should attend an introductory childcare training course and undertake an appropriate paediatric first-aid training course as set out in the EYFS requirements and the requirements of the childcare register.

If you are interested in becoming a childminder, please view our childminding fact sheet attached to this page. Contact Patsi Jones to request further information or to book on to a training session, email: or tel: 01629 532096.

Level 2

Certificate for the Children and Young People’s Workforce 0-19 (35 credits).

Level 3

Diploma for the Children and Young People’s Workforce 0-19 (65 credits).

There is a choice of pathways for this qualification:

  • early years
  • social care
  • LDSS (learning, development and support services)

From September 2014 the Diploma for the Children and Young People’s Workforce (Early Years pathway) will no longer be offered as a qualification. The level 3 qualification will be replaced by Level 3 Early Years Educator Qualifications (England only).

Further education

Foundation degrees, degrees, early years teacher status.

FdA Children's and Young People's Services – for further information on course content, entry requirements and fees please refer directly to the universities.

If you do decide to embark on qualifications, please could you alert the Workforce Development Team to update your professional details.