Advanced Level (A level) and Advanced Subsidiary (AS) General Certificate of Education

A levels are subject-based qualifications mostly taken by UK students aged 16 to 19 in school sixth-forms or at college, but there are no age restrictions on entry.

All about A levels

  • A levels are qualifications at level 3
  • An A level is normally achieved through a two year course that is a progression from a GCSE or equivalent
  • AS (Advanced Subsidiary) is the first half of an A level, as well as being a stand-alone qualification
  • A2 is the second half of an A level qualification
  • A levels are the main route to higher education and may be required for some jobs
  • A levels are graded A*−E.

Related documents

The following documents are in Portable Document Format (PDF). You can download software to view PDF documents for free from the Adobe website (opens in a new window)

Information on other websites