Alert close - icon Fill 1 Copy 10 Untitled-1 tt copy 3 Untitled-1 Untitled-1 tt copy 3 Fill 1 Copy 10 menu Group 3 Group 3 Copy 3 Group 3 Copy Page 1 Group 2 Group 2 Skip to content

We're planning essential maintenance on Sunday 22 July 2018 between 8am and noon, which may impact the website. We apologise for any problems this may cause.

close alert bar

Advanced Level (A level) and Advanced Subsidiary (AS) General Certificate of Education

A levels are subject-based qualifications mostly taken by UK students aged 16 to 19 in school sixth-forms or at college, but there are no age restrictions on entry.

All about A levels

  • A levels are qualifications at level 3
  • An A level is normally achieved through a two year course that is a progression from a GCSE or equivalent
  • AS (Advanced Subsidiary) is the first half of an A level, as well as being a stand-alone qualification
  • A2 is the second half of an A level qualification
  • A levels are the main route to higher education and may be required for some jobs
  • A levels are graded A*–E.