Alert close - icon Fill 1 Copy 10 Untitled-1 tt copy 3 Untitled-1 Untitled-1 tt copy 3 Fill 1 Copy 10 menu Group 3 Group 3 Copy 3 Group 3 Copy Page 1 Group 2 Group 2 Skip to content

Derwent Valley Rail Partnership gets government backing

Published: 27 January 2020

Derwent Valley Line Community Rail Partnership (CRP), sponsored by us, has received the seal of approval from government.

Trevor Ainsworth and Alastair Morley at Matlock railway station
Councillor Trevor Ainsworth (right) with our community rail officer Alastair Morley with their accreditation certificate at Matlock railway station.

The Department for Transport has formally recognised the local rail organisation by awarding it accreditation status. This recognises that it operates to a high standard and means the CRP can now apply for extra public funding.

The Derwent Valley Line serves stations between Matlock and Nottingham but particularly focuses on improving local stations such as Matlock, Matlock Bath, Cromford, Whatstandwell, Ambergate, Belper and Duffield.

The CRP will need to apply for extra cash but if successful, the money will be used for improving access to stations, such as cycle links and storage facilities, improving station buildings and cultivating the natural environment to encourage local wildlife.

Our Cabinet Support Member and Chairman for Highways, Transport and Infrastructure Councillor Trevor Ainsworth, who is also the Chairman of the Derwent Valley CRP, said:

“Accreditation is an official stamp of approval for the CRP, and I would especially like to thank the Association of Community Rail Partnerships and East Midlands Railway for their support in us achieving this.

“Considerable credit for the CRP’s success is due to the work with our partner organisations and the many station volunteers who help make our stations more welcoming for passengers.”

The CRP is a partnership between East Midlands Railway, CrossCountry Trains, Amber Valley Borough Council, Derbyshire Dales District Council, the Peak District National Park Authority and local town and parish councils.