Alert close - icon Fill 1 Copy 10 Untitled-1 tt copy 3 Untitled-1 Untitled-1 tt copy 3 Fill 1 Copy 10 menu Group 3 Group 3 Copy 3 Group 3 Copy Page 1 Group 2 Group 2 Skip to content

The English Indices of Deprivation 2015

The English Indices of Deprivation 2015 were published in September 2015 by the Department for Communities and Local Government (DCLG), updating the Indices of Deprivation 2010.

The Indices of Deprivation are the Government’s official measure of multiple deprivation at small area level and provide a consistent measure of deprivation across England. The Indices are used extensively by local authorities to identify areas of deprivation at a local level, to support funding applications and to target resources.

Components of the Index of Multiple Deprivation 2015

The Index is made up from scores on seven 'domains':

  • Income deprivation
  • Employment deprivation
  • Health deprivation and disability
  • Education, skills and training deprivation
  • Barriers to housing and services
  • Crime
  • Living environment deprivation

The index is available for Lower layer Super Output Areas (LSOAs). There are 32,844 such areas across England including 491 in Derbyshire, and each contains on average 1,500 people. Each LSOA in England can be ranked according to their Index of Multiple Deprivation Score (the LSOA with a rank of 1 is the most deprived and 32,844 the least deprived).

Scores and rankings on the seven domains are also available. There are also two supplementary indices measuring income deprivation affecting children and older people.

To view data

Data on the Index of Multiple Deprivation 2015 can be found on the Derbyshire Observatory