Standards committee

The Standards Committee has the following responsibilities:

  • promoting and maintaining high standards of conduct by members
  • assisting members of the council to observe our Code of Conduct.

More particularly they have the following specific functions:

  • advising the council on the adoption or revision of the Code of Conduct
  • monitoring the operation of the Code of Conduct
  • advising and training or arranging to train members of the council on matters relating to the Code of Conduct
  • assessing and reviewing complaints against members
  • conducting hearings and making decisions on complaints
  • safeguarding the council's constitution.

It is made up of eight members - five Labour and three Conservative - together with three independent persons (non-voting).

See current meeting agendas for the Standards Committee (opens in a new window)

Meeting portfolio details

Democratic Services Team
Six times a year

Members and party

  • Celia Cox - Labour
  • Sean Bambrick - Labour
  • Tricia Gilby - Labour
  • Irene Ratcliffe - Labour
  • Dave Wilcox - Labour
  • Kevin Buttery - Conservative
  • Carol Hart - Conservative
  • Tony Kemp - Conservative